Ceiling fan/light switches

Reaction score
We just bought a house, and the fan light in the master bedroom doesn't work as desired. There are two switches, but the one on the left controls a wall outlet. We want one switch to work the fan and the other to work the light. I pulled out the switches and had planned to move the red wire over to the one on the left, but all the wires got confusing. If I pull the red wire out of the switch on the right and put it where the black wire is on the left, I will then have the fan and light on different switches, right? But then what do I do with the black wire and what do I do with the switch on the right that now only has one wire? I don't need the outlet to be controlled by the switch. I'd actually prefer that the outlet always have power. Apologies for my ignorance. I've installed three lights now, but this is my first time working with a fan light and switches.

Attachments

Reaction score