Metal spinning.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I bought two very old large coach lamps from Rufforth Auto Jumble and am now attempting to fully restore them; there are six reflectors which are in very poor condition so why not make new reflectors?

I've been around lathes for over 50 years and have never attempted or needed to try "metal spinning". I enjoy leaving my comfort zone to try new things so now's the opportunity to try metal spinning for the first time. Metal spinning looks easy on YouTube videos but only with practice and I'm a raw novice so I'll make all the mistakes first. I must point out the dangers though of not only metal spinning but lathe work in general which can be highly dangerous and a big engineering lathe can easily kill.

Below are a few pictures on my humble beginnings showing the amount of scrap I was spinning; this morning at last I finally spun my first nice piece. The aluminium used for metal spinning like this are grades 3003 or better still 1100-0. The pile of scrap is actually scrap aluminium sheet bought from our local scrap yard and it's proved to be very unsuitable. Even the correct grade of aluminum takes quite a bit of practice to spin but I'm now well on my way; the new reflector in the pictures is just a test piece; I can now start to spin to exact requirements but I still expect to destroy a few more discs.

I've fancied having a go at metal spinning for many years and now I'm getting to grips with hand spinning I'm finding it an highly interesting hobby. I'm spinning on my fully restored and highly modified Union Graduate lathe.

Hope this is of interest because it's a very old skill and many of these skills are dying out.

Kind regards, Colin.

Metal spinning._001_01.JPG

I don't regard this as a total failure because it's a steep learning curve and as such this kind of thing is expected.

Metal spinning._002.JPG