Strange three way circuit

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello,

First of all, I would like to let you know I am a beginner, so please forgive me for any imprecision.

After repainting a corridor, I decided to upgrade the switches of the 3-way circuit as well as the lamp that they control.
No changes to the wiring at all. Just a simple straightforward replacement of the old components that have been there for 50 years or so.

The first strange thing was that after turning one switch off on the breaker panel, and checking if there was current in the switches and the lamp, I was still getting the "hot" signal until I turned another breaker panel switch off.
Basically, the circuit itself is on two switches of the breaker panel, covering two contiguous areas of the house (rooms on one side plus corridor, rooms on the other side) and somehow they cross each other.

The second strange thing is that in one of the boxes for one switch there is a situation I have never encountered: there are 3 triple cables coming in, all the "neutrals" connected together, a hot red cable to the single side of the 3way switch, and on the other a regular hot black cable, and a "skinned" hot black cable (basically connected to the switch but continuing towards somewhere else, I guess functioning as a bridge).
The other box is normal, with the 3 cables as I would expect them

The third strange thing is that after changing the switches and the lamp, I can control the lamp with the switches as one would expect, but when it is in the "off" condition, the lamp actually remains lit, although dimmed (but it's not a special lamp or light bulb).
Also, if I turn the lamp off from the switch on the lamp itself, I break the circuit.

As mentioned, I am not an expert, but I have enough experience to understand explanations and directions, and I am always trying to do things in a way that is safe.

I would like to fix the situation without too many complications and rewirings.