Looking to run electricity to my shed in my back yard

Reaction score
Country
United States
I want to dig a trench and drip conduit if needed and run a heavy enough gauge to run a 1200 BTU A/C and 2 computers (with monitors) and a couple overhead lights (LED).
don't know what wire to use, size for a 40 foot run nor willing to connect it to the main on the side of the house. I have run yellow romex in the attic and installed new light switches and wall out outlets several times. I have added a new circuit breaker to the garage panel and run wall drops many, many times but I am no electrician and I don't play one on TV. I need advice.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I advise getting an electrician. IHNI what the regulations in the USA say about how this should be done, or who should do it, but the laws of physics are the same, and so therefore is the potential for dangerous screw-ups.

I doubt US electricians love digging trenches any more than UK ones do, so you ought to have no problems in finding one who will tell you how to dig the trench (depth, bedding material, warning tape etc) and how and what sort of conduit(s)) so you can do the labouring to save money and leave the electrical work to him. He can advise on cable type and size and so on.

I would always advise conduit, even if direct burial is allowed, in case you ever want to change things or add another cable. In the UK I'd advise 2 of them as over here you can't have electrical and phone/data/alarm cables in the same one, and wifi & cellphones are all very well but often wired is better.

If you do go for direct burial, if allowed, then unless you love digging trenches, put in a bigger cable than you need in case you ever want a hot-tub or pottery kiln or particle accelerator out there.

Reaction score
Current, voltage, single or three phase would be more useful information than BTU.