Boarding out bathroom.

Reaction score
Hi, going to be doing complete bathroom soon. I've had various quotes for various jobs. When it came to tiling, the guy told me that he would board the whole bathroom and tile on top. As money is tight I thought I could aave myself a few quid and board it myself. I am aware that I should use MR board as a minimum. However I have two small windows 610 x 1000. Should I board inside the window, the walls are fine in this area. It's no extra effort to do this but not sure if necessary. Also back wall is completely fine as mentioned by tiler so reluctant to do this if it's not really needed. The tiler was going to dab and dot, I've no experience of this so was going to screw directly to wall or batons and spacers where required. Any advice appreciated.

Reaction score
Boarding makes for an easier and better job for the tiler. (I assume you prefer tiles to plastic coverings...I fitted the latter ten years ago, maintenance free unlike grouted tiles.) If you have major undulations then skimming with plaster (really only for minor undulations) is out. If there are larger undulations then you could use thicker 'bonding coat' to fill large depressions then skim, but getting it flat and true could be a problem....In short, however, dot and dab with 12.5mm boards (obvious thing to say but they are flat!) would be advisable as any depressions beneath your new boards will become weak spots (don't use 9mm boards). It doesn't need to be moisture resistant, just well skimmed and sealed....I love tiles and have done many such jobs but think of the hundreds of metres of grout cleaning in the future ;-)

Reaction score