Rotten Plaster and What's Next for a Complete Novice...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all!
Firstly, if this post is in the wrong place, please move it to the appropriate thread, thanks.

Recently, I tried to erect a new bathroom cabinet.
Given the size of my bathroom, there's only one place to put it, which because of tiling, is already quite high.
It's an outside wall with plaster on the inside, then concrete, then brick.
Drilling is very difficult.
The plaster came away and crumbled quite easily and I'm left with a couple of large holes in the plaster which I can easily fill BUT that plaster I fill it with will also be the site of the new holes.

...aaaaand finally, the question.
What's the best way to right the plaster, site the new holes, all so it doesn't fall down?

(Do I need to make a bigger hole? Can I site some wood behind the plaster to distribute the weight of the cabinet?)

I'm not very good at DIY.
If the advice is for a drunk six year old, I'm okay with this.
Thanks for reading!

Attachments

Last edited:
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
It's an outside wall with plaster on the inside, then concrete, then brick.
Actually that looks like plasterboard, fixed to the wall with "dots and dabs" of adhesive, hence the small void behind it.

You can't fix anything to it - you absolutely have to drill through into the wall behind and use the appropriate wall plugs.

Drilling is very difficult.
You need to make it easier, then. If the problem is that you don't have a good enough drill, then get one. If your masonry bits are knackered, buy new ones. (They are expendable - don't assume they'll have a long life if you are drilling into cement and hard brick).