Noisy Shower waste when flushing the toilet?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

As part of an insurance repair, we've had a new shower tray & waste fitted.

Ever since, when we flush the loo, there's a gurgling from the shower waste.

We've never heard it before. When fitting the shower waste, the plumber said the immortal words: "I've never seen a waste like this before!"

Is the noise expected / normal? We have run the shower to fill the waste trap with water. Is the issue with the toilet vent or bad plumbing?

Thanks!

John

Last edited:
Reaction score
I'm not an expert but to answer your questions, yes and yes. If the problems started with the repair that's certainly suspect. Simple case could be a clog but seems like venting is not right

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

We've never heard it before. When fitting the shower waste, the plumber said the immortal words: "I've never seen a waste like this before!"

Is the noise expected / normal? We have run the shower to fill the waste trap with water. Is the issue with the toilet vent or bad plumbing?

Thanks!

John
When toilet waste descends the the down pipe it creates a vacuum behind it, sucking the water out of the shower water trap. There needs to be ventilation upstream from where the shower waste joins the toilet waste pipe to relieve the vacuum.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

Thanks!

John
There should be a vent on the pipe to prevent this -ve pressure acting as a siphon on your shower waste. An easy option maybe to add a durgo valve upstream of where the waste connects to the stack. There are pipe layout design rules that prevent this - often ignored to get easy pipe connetions.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom