Need to replace subfloor under shower. Can I saw off the drainpipe? How to attach new one?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Total novice here...

I discovered that my shower had been leaking, so took up the linoleum to find that the chipboard subfloor was totally soaking and ruined. Removed shower unit and lino, hoping to replace subfloor myself and save some money calling someone in.

The shower drain is stopping me from pulling up the subfloor and I'm worried I'd be doing something wrong if I sawed the drain off at the base (see picture).

Can I safely saw it off and it's an easy job for a plumber to attach some more piping when putting the shower unit back?

If I can do that, it should let me do the subfloor replacement by myself (or at least get rid of the rotten old chipboard) and hopefully save a bit of money on labour.

Bonus question: the plasterboard behind the shower wall tiles looks pretty bad too (underneath the white tiles in the picture). Should I pull all that out and replace it as well?

Any help really appreciated!

Cheers,

Eddie

Attachments

Reaction score
Eddie, the phrase can of worms springs to mind?

1/. Cut the plastic waste wherever once the wet chip is out of the way then plenty of room to re-connect.
2/. check the chip floor for water damage / rot spread outwith the area of the shower tray.
3/. When the chip is out of the way, check the joists for wood rot.[need replacing is rotten?]
4/ Get your shower tray, find out where the waste is situated in the tray, that way you can "aim" the waste pipe towards the outlet in the tray [Input here by the plumber]

Can you get access under the floor?? makes life easier?? a crawl space or similar?

Walls??

1/. If you can push your finger into the plasterboard, then plasterboard will need to be replaced + a re-tile [sorry about that]

Time to take the Bull by the horns

2/. Plasterboard walls out + tiles
3/. check timber studs that fix the plasterboard for rot replace studs as needed