Cheap paint sprayer.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Out of interest I decided to buy one of these;

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Electric...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

For just over £20 I didn't expect much but I was in for a pleasant surprise;

Colt._001_02.JPG

Grass box from Suffolk Colt mower I'm restoring as bought.

Paintwork_001.JPG

The same grass box after a lot of TLC now in cellulose primer.

Paintwork_002.JPG

Sprayed with this cheap sprayer yesterday on our driveway.

Paintwork_004.JPG

The sprayer as used.

Setting up this sprayer was very easy indeed it being virtually plug and play. I've been spraying cellulose for over 50 years and usually I simply mix at 50/50 half paint and half good quality thinners; I never bother using a viscosity cup.

With everything set up I started to spray; this was in brilliant hot sunshine; I had difficulty seeing how much paint was going on so initially I ended up with a pair of curtains; no real problem it being primer it will flat easily. I was truly amazed by how much paint the gun put out; with the trigger adjusted I calmed it down and completed the spraying; the hose and mains lead are short but the sprayer comes with a shoulder strap making it very portable; just the extension cord to move around. It's noisy; the gun is a bleeder type allowing air to constantly blow out and the air is warm and dry unlike the standard piston compressors where the air is cold and often moist. It's a very cheap outfit but much better than I expected; it certainly sprays in fact I could easily spray much thicker paint with less thinning.

The cup was tight to screw on but didn't leak at the joint; the gun is like any other spray gun to clean in fact much easier to clean then my previous expensive Apollo sprayer gun. HVLP technology (high volume low pressure) means more paint on the job less paint into the atmosphere.