20AMP box on ring main

Reaction score
A plumber recently added a spur to the ring main in the kitchen. He used a junction box rated at 20A though for 2.5mm cable. I've since read it should have been a 30A box so I'm a bit worried whether this is safe. I'd simply replace it myself except it requires unplumbing the sink and moving the base unit to get at it.

I think 2.5mm mains cable is itself only rated at 20A so presumably a 20A box is OK? :confused:

Reaction score
I am not a professional electrician, so what follows is based on my own understanding of the situation.

A standard ring circuit (ring main) consists of a loop of cable whose live and neutral cores are of 2.5 square mm cross-sectional area (csa). The two ends are connected to the same MCB in the consumer unit. This MCB is often a B20. This will sooner or later trip out if there is an overload (how soon depends on how much overload). In the case of a simple overload, tripping out is performed by the heating up of a bimetal strip inside the MCB. The greater the overload the more quickly it gets hot, so the sooner the switch trips off. If there is a massive overload - a dead short - there is no delay. A second device in the MCB operates - typically in the case of a dead short. This is an electromagnetic relay,and trips the switch instantly.

B-rated MCBs trip quite quickly on overload. C-rated ones trip more slowly. If you have a circuit for an appliance with a powerful motor which draws a very high starting current (eg air conditioner, workshop air compressor) you may be told to fit a D-rated MCB.