Wierd GFCI problem

Discussion in 'Electrical' started by cecwarrant, Oct 12, 2018.

  1. cecwarrant

    cecwarrant

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Added a branch receptacle to an existing GFCI protected receptacle. Completed the wiring connections to the GFCI. Energized; Existing GFCI would not reset. Trips immediately when pushing reset button Checked all new wiring and found no cross connections. Replaced GFCI with new one (premium brand), same problem. Went over wiring with a volt meter and found no crossed wiring or leakage between conductors including ground to neutral. Where do I go now? Possibility of existing and new both being bad? HELP

    Ron
     
    cecwarrant, Oct 12, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. cecwarrant

    Don Farrell

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ron,

    1) Do you have an Volt/Ohm meter?
    2) Leave the receptacle that you are adding out of the circuit. Does the GFCI receptacle trip?
    3) Is there any receptacles down stream of the receptacle you are adding?
     
    Don Farrell, Oct 16, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. cecwarrant

    cecwarrant

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for your interest. I solved the problem, I forgot to use the GFCI branch neutral to feed the downstream outlets. Age creates advanced CRS. Been doing this for years and should have remembered .

    Ron
     
    cecwarrant, Oct 16, 2018
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.