New dishwasher grounding wire

Reaction score
I recently bought a new dishwasher to replace the old one my home came with. It looked like the ground wire of the old machine was just wrapped around the bracket on the dishwasher. Now, I'm at a loss as far as how to connect the ground on the new machine. Shouldn't it be connected to a dedicated ground wire? I only have a hot and neutral coming from the house. Please see attached pictures and advise. Thanks in advance for any insight.

Attachments

Reaction score
What you have there is a complete circuit. Red would be hot, White would be neutral and the Ground is being supplied by the metal shell of the BX cable.

Reaction score
oh jeez, as a complete novice I wasn't aware the metal casing served that function. so I can connect the washer black to the red house wire, white washer to white house. how should i connect the exposed end of the green wire from the dishwasher? thank you for last response and in advance for any future help!

Reaction score
The easiest way would be to strip back some of the insulation and using a hose clap. secure it to the outer shell.

Reaction score
I would be careful using the tube as a grounded conductor. The continuity to earth ground may have been comprimised if others have removed wiring or modified the home electrical system. If your home has copper plumbing you can connect the ground with a hose clamp to the cold water line

Reaction score