Cowboy builders, weak mortar

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A nearby neighbour (a widow) had a small kitchen extension built recently, and we have found that the mortar used to lay the external brickwork is far too weak. It can be taken out by running a finger over it and it just comes away easily. I know that one solution for rectification would be demolition and rebuild of the wall. Not being a builder, I have no knowledge of any alternatives.

Anyone on here able to suggest an alternative?

Surveyors report has been provided and the matter is due to go to court, but she needs to know what timescale any rectification will take once the judgement and refunds come through.

Colin

Reaction score
Several issues.

Because of C19 the court system is in chaos and backlogs are long.

Even if the Cowboy is found guilty and the court awards for your neighbour, the builder will declare bankruptcy, or similar so there will not be any funds to give to your neighbour, or the court awards in favour of your neighbour, but may have extreme difficulty in getting any money from the builder.

Were the payments to this builder made using either a Credit Card or Bank Card? if so there is a clause in both of these payment methods, it is called a Section 75 Could well be worth a look??

If covered under the above, the card company has to offer a refund, as for repair?? sounds like a demolish and re-build.

Ken.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I don't know how payment was made, so can't confirm. We suspect that he will declare bankruptcy, but a lien has already been placed on his assets by the court.

Additionally, there are several people in the trade prepared to serve karma, although that is hearsay.

Colin

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
UPDATE