Changing Wire Gauge

Discussion in 'Electrical' started by J Jimenez, Jan 24, 2018.

  1. J Jimenez

    J Jimenez

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ran 12 gauge wire from an outside plug to my shed. It was about a 60 ft run. The plug was wired with 14 gauge wire. Is that an issue changing gauges from smaller to larger in this situation? I'm wiring the shed outlets with 14 gauge wire.
     
    J Jimenez, Jan 24, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. J Jimenez

    MidwestJimbo

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I understand, this will put an increased load on the 14 gauge wire feeding the outlet. Just have to watch what type of equipment/tools you run in the shed.
     
    MidwestJimbo, Jan 24, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. J Jimenez

    AdamTheWebMan

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rockford, IL
    What is the Amperage of the circuit protection (circuit breaker or fuse) ? For #14awg it should be 15amp, but if it was all #12awg you could use up to a 20amp .
    Also, 14awg is actually small diameter wire the 12awg wire.
     
    AdamTheWebMan, Jan 28, 2018
    #3
  4. J Jimenez

    Don Farrell

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    Your current is limited to no more than 15 amps. When mixing conductors, the limiting factor is the smallest gauge wire anywhere in the circuit in this case the 14 AWG cable. If you try to run 20 amp on this circuit you run the very real risk of melting the insulation of the 14 AWG wire and causing a short and fire.
     
    Don Farrell, Jun 5, 2018
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.