Base for patio

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Probably basic questions but never done this before...

I've got the bit of my garden seen in the attached image almost ready to put down some click deck (like laminate for decking) and have two questions

1. Although the ground is mostly level I need to flatten it out. I'd rather not have to hire a whacker plate so what's the best way to level/flatten it?

2. I've got gravel, sand and weed membrane ready for the sub base but what's the best order to put them down in? Gravel, sand and then weed membrane or weed membrane first?

I suspect both my questions may have the same answer regarding leveling using the sand rather than trying to level the earth, but I've never done anything like this before so a bit stuck!

The patio area will only really be used in the summer when it's dry, as it will have patio furniture on it

Thanks in advance

Attachments

Reaction score
Each to their own, but that's not the way I'd build a patio.

When we bought our house, I replaced a patio which was just large pavingstones laid straight on the ground.

We have a crazy York stone patio. Mostly large pieces.

I didn't want something which would require much maintenance.
I had a concrete raft laid by a contractor (35 years ago) and I laid the patio on top of it myself, ensuring I got the falls right, away from the house and to the border on each side.
Apart from an occasional bit of pointing after jet washing it. It's been fine. It'll be fine for another thirty years or more.
I don't give it much thought.

These photos are twenty years apart.

P5050050.JPG

P1030754.JPG

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Welcome to the forum Froglet.

It's entirely your choice what you decide to do but I agree with Doghouse who's patio looks good after many years of use.