Assembling antique dresser. Use screws??

Reaction score
Hello

I have acquired a dresser with a pivot mirror, however it is not assembled and there are no screws or instructions as it is an old (and very lovely) piece. I'd like some advice on how to attach the various pieces together. I think I've worked out how to piece it all together, and there are holes which line up, but I'd like to know whether I ought to just use plain metal screws to screw the pieces in place. (I am a complete noob at DIY and normally do flat pack which comes with instructions!)

There is:

• A base (set of drawers)
  • A back panel which needs to be attached to the base
  • Two wooden supports which need to be attached to the back panel I think. There are three holes, so three screws?
  • The mirror itself, which appears to just rest on the two bracket bits which are on the wooden supports.

I've attached some photos including how I think it should look when assemebled and a diagram!

Where I've drawn a screw on the diagram (to attach the back panel and the base - there is a hole going straight through the lip at the back of the base and a corresponding hole on the base panel) do I just use a plain metal screw here? Would three screws along the back panel be strong enough to hold the whole thing together (since that is going to bear the weight of the mirror and the two supports)?
Does my assessment of how to assemble the thing make sense?

Attachments

Reaction score
Also how long would the screws need to be? They'll obviously need to be at least the thickness of the lip at the back of the dresser, but then a fair bit of the screw would I think, need to end up in the back panel. I tried putting a screw in the hole in the back panel but it only goes in about 3mm. Is that far enough in? It doesn't seem that far to me. I guess I could always get slightly longer screws and screw in further, but how much further should I go?