Hiding Pipe Work.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all.

just wondering if you can help me. In most sections of my home pipework is quite visible and i am (where i can ) looking to hide them. please see attached image of my poor graphic work in good old paint,im sure you will get the jist of what i am talking about.

I have 2 downward pipes in the corner of my room which protrude about 1 1/2 inches of the wall. i intend of boxing them in but i am not really good at creating my own boxing. So really i am asking what is the best method or what to buy to box these pipes in. i can only seem to find boxing for floor pipes and the sizes don't go up to what i need which from floor to ceiling is around 8ft. Cheers
coner boxing.jpg

Reaction score
Hi and welcome

Whatever you use to box these pipes in will still be as obvious as the pipes themselves.

If you really want to hide them and they don't stick out too far, why not baton out the whole wall and buy some 8ft sheets of plasterboard and make yourself a false wall that will hide the lot?

I did this with this wall many years ago. I used teak veneered sheets, on 2" X 1" wooden batons, this enabled me to fit uplighters as the wires are behind the panels (both sides of the chimney breast). About ten years ago we had the panels painted.

P1040785.JPG

Reaction score
What you need to add is what size pipe (15-mm, 22-mm etc.) assuming it's copper or plastic, and what service is it? Heating etc.
I know it's unlikely, but as a plumber mate of mine's trainee son found out once, don't assume that pipes are what the appear to be - his lead pipe was the lead sheath of a live mains cable so cutting it with a hacksaw wasn't a great idea. It's just that some electrical ducting is round plastic.
1 1/2" standoff sounds a bit excessive. Maybe it's because the pipes cross over each other, which is poor plumbing - there are things called crossovers, or better planning.