Greetings from Central Kansas

Reaction score
Hello everybody.

My name is Branden. I'm a welder from Lyons, Kansas. In my spare time I'm a blacksmith. I enjoy working with my hands. I try and learn something new everyday which is what brought me here. Hope to learn a lot and share what knowledge I do have with you all. I have a YouTube channel that I post whatever I decide to work on. https://www.youtube.com/c/FrontierForge

Fair warning: I'm no expert! Just one of the many hobbies of mine.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

A belated welcome to the forum Branden from me too. :)

What kind of welding do you do and what welder/s do you own? I was taught both arc (stick) and gas (oxy/acetylene) welding over 50 years ago and my current welder is an industrial Pickhill Bantam 180A oil cooled arc welder; this welder will run day in day out without cutting out unlike the hobby welders with a short duty cycle; this welder can be supplied by either 240V or 415V I run it in my home workshop on 240v but I've had to install a 32A "C type" breaker because it used to trip the standard breaker. The downside is it's very heavy indeed and certainly not portable.

I've never used a MIG or Tig welder and I've never attempted to weld aluminium or stainless never having had the need to. I enjoy welding and it's most satisfying to weld steel without recourse to using fasteners like nuts & bolts.