Newbie saying hello from Huddersfield.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm new to this DIY forum but am a member of a number of other forums including Ian's excellent gardening forum where I drive members nuts with my ramblings being a regular poster.

I'm 70 years young and have many and varied hobbies ranging from DIY to restoring vintage radios. My background is mining engineering; I was apprenticed to The National Coal Board upon leaving school at the age of 15 as an apprentice mechanical engineer. I've held many jobs over the years my last job in charge of three departments at a local electric motor manufacturer where I grafted for 24 years before taking voluntary redundancy and works pension at the age of 53.

I've already corrupted the gardening forum with my stories many of which have absolutely nothing to do with gardening but have been received with interest and encouragement. I hope to learn from members here and to share information.

https://www.gardening-forums.com/threads/lathes.14403/

https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/showthread.php?t=62371

I'm not an expert on anything and I make lots of silly mistakes which I'm not scared of sharing; after 55 years of learning I still know very little which pleases me otherwise I'd be bored. :D

Kind regards, Colin.

Reactions: Ian

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Great to see you over here Colin :D

I look forward to reading more about your projects on here, and contributing some of my own :). I've got a busy week coming up, but once it calms down, I'm going to give this forum a little bit of a re-arrange so that we've got a projects/workshop section - as I think it'll be a popular addition, given our interests.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Many thanks Ian but oh dear will it mean I'll be spending even more time as a keyboard warrior than time in the workshop. :D